Word and Image

St Louis Arch

 

This is a pretty classic shot of the St Louis Gateway Arch. I have seen it lit up at night and that is impressive as well. Everyone who visits stand beneath the Arch where an effective photo is near to impossible. Wide angle lenses cannot take in the whole view or they distort things. I am happy enough to have driven around behind the statehouse. I would have gone by this shot never seeing it in the rear view mirror had it not been for the red tinted fountain in honor of the Cardinals being in the World Series. Go Cards! In the gallery you will find the outtakes. These are good images that show a different perspective yet again and make my argument that you don’t need to see the whole arch to know it’s there.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gallery:

2 responses

  1. My niece lives outside of St. Louis – never seen a shot like these. Something about the one behind the statehouse that reminds me of an ornate teakettle – but, that’s just my imagination. Thanks for taking us along.

    October 26, 2011 at 11:31 am

    • I have seen the lead picture as a night shot. I didn’t know where it’s vantage point was. Now that I returned and spent a little more time, I know where to go. Otherwise, the standard images have been done. I just wanted to try for something not commonly seen.

      October 26, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers