Word and Image

Mom

It’s my Mom’s birthday today. Happy Valentine’s Day. If you don’t know or are unfamiliar, Valentine’s is a day in which everyone gives cards, candy, flowers, and takes their special someone for a romantic candle light dinner. Get the picture? It’s a big Hallmark (cards) day. Flowers – especially roses  – are double the price. Tomorrow, the day after, roses are back to the same price once again. Anyway, I am scanning thousands of slides at the moment. This shot was back in the ’70’s. I checked it out with my wife before posting. It’s not your usual shot for mom. I have obviously caught her by surprise in a totally unguarded moment. While the smile is genuine, there’s also something a little disconcerting for me. I guess I’m just not used to seeing Mom smile that way. I didn’t do any manipulation, color change, sharpening etc. It’s just a slide from another era.

2 responses

  1. Suying

    touchy.

    February 14, 2012 at 7:32 pm

  2. Cousin Vicki wrote:
    What a wonderful picture. I didn’t know how much Julia looks like her. Wow.

    February 14, 2012 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers