Word and Image

Banana Boat

This is a special shot and was my screen saver for a long time. It was late summer on Lake Champlain. We were staying at a family resort. The group decided to do the banana boat ride. This time it was kids. The boat was in motion and I juggled a film camera and a video camera, alternating shots. Both boat were in motion and any attempt at a close up, the motion was even worse. So by all rights I had no business getting this shot. If I had scripted this shot, I couldn’t have pulled it off. There is my daughter, leaning into the turn, a little extra lean, and with a yellow vest at that! If you had wanted the perfect shot with the perfect pose in full on motion… Well, I was pretty amazed myself. You can’t do it better with digital. Looking at the LCD screen can’t save you. All the kids had to be perfectly positioned. And to think I just shot one image and brought the film home to develop. The video by the way is very dizzying. Too close and the camera is moving too much. Too far and the figures are too small to make out. What luck with the film camera! Since I do this kind of thing periodically, my family tends to think nothing of it. But I can still say it was a pretty good shot.

6 responses

  1. GREAT FUN! Those lucky shots always amaze us. The banana boat looks like it had flippers. This is something I would love to do – getting someone to go with is usually the problem. Thanks for sharing your travels and children with us.

    May 26, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    • Go for it. If you ever get the chance, riding the banana boat is great fun. If you tell the drive to be gentle you won’t fall. Or if not, they can really whip you around.

      May 26, 2012 at 10:35 pm

  2. That is a great shot. Don’t sell yourself short though…sometimes you may think its a lucky shot but I think its the photographer.

    May 26, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    • I attribute some things to luck because I feel that were I employed to get such a shot it would be quite a feat to pull it off. So I am always happy to find these gems unscripted and so wonderful.

      May 26, 2012 at 10:34 pm

  3. It is a great shot! I bet you didn’t expect it. I really like it. One to remember. Your kids are so lucky to have had you to record everything while they were growing up. That sort of photographic memory is priceless!

    May 26, 2012 at 11:07 pm

  4. What a super shot, Victor, and the title is perfect too. :)

    May 27, 2012 at 8:50 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers