Word and Image

Balloon Reflection

I only got one chance to photograph the annual balloon festival in Lewiston, Maine. But since I lived in the area I could get to the venue any time the balloons launched. I had left the launch park and was driving to work along the river. I could see a balloon drifting above the trees. Yes, I wasn’t looking where I was driving. But traffic was sparse. I jumped out of the car in time to catch this image. Morning fog was lifting off the mirror calm river and the basket just about to touch down. The balloon pilots liked to do this to impress. I was duly impressed and got the shot.

7 responses

  1. Beautiful – this takes me back to our flight in the Loire Valley two summers ago. I can almost still feel the butterflies in my stomach. :) Did you ever ride one?

    June 8, 2012 at 4:03 am

    • No, not a balloon, but I have many hours in a Bell 47 (MASH) helicopter. My wife who won’t go in a helicopter decided it’s safer in a balloon and I drove a chase car. To slow down for landing the basket hit the pine trees. That’s not so safe in my book.

      June 8, 2012 at 7:12 am

  2. Iconic image. You should frame this one. I am going to Lewiston Maine this summer. Small world.

    June 8, 2012 at 8:30 am

    • The festival occurred in August as I recall. I had full access for four days to come up with these images. Otherwise as you drive through Lewiston there is a waterfall that is quite picturesque. There is a mill and railroad bridge as background. The mill will be abandoned as construction As with most places there is one main road in and out. Otherwise there’s not much in the way of photo-ops. It’s a town that has been just one step shy of decline.

      June 8, 2012 at 9:23 am

  3. awesome picture!!:-)

    June 8, 2012 at 10:04 am

  4. Right moment , Right place , Victor !
    Love the colors . And the reflection !

    utham

    June 8, 2012 at 11:26 am

  5. Simply perfect. The one and only time a newspaper editor and I went ballooning was a little frightening. The balloon got off course, and if the farmer he radioed hadn’t giving him permission, we would have landed in the Pacific. The landing was bounce, and lift, bounce and drag – not fun. But they loaded us up on champagne when we got back – someone had to come drive us home that day. Must have been the altitude, that champagne went right to our heads. But, we did get some great shots and a good story for the paper.

    June 8, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 408 other followers