Word and Image

Haystacks

I caught this picture of Norwegian farm life somewhere north of Oslo on the road to Unset. Remember that town with the entering/leaving sign on the same post? The directions to Unset are easy. You leave the airport and drive due north on a two lane road. It’s not divided as I learned quickly swerving back to my side of the road when I found myself facing oncoming traffic. Arriving in Unset, I saw no town (stores, gas station, restaurant) but followed a bus figuring it would lead me there. The bus turned into a driveway, the bus driver having parked in his home driveway. I asked for directions in English and a nice man who didn’t speak English motioned me to follow him. We drove up the road two houses further on and I was at Harald’s place. Meanwhile, back at the haystacks, I saw the covering on the stacks, but never quite got an explanation of their meaning. It’s not something I have seen in the United States.

 

2 responses

  1. That is a strange thing. Maybe it keeps off bird droppings. I bet some reader will know the answer.

    September 2, 2012 at 7:41 am

  2. Jing

    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hay#section_3

    Nice stories. Entertained people and make them think.
    Water proof methods for larger haystacks varies.

    Jing

    September 2, 2012 at 9:36 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 506 other followers