Word and Image

Archive for January 6, 2013

Mystic

2375 10 Julia David

Even as the kids got older, I took them on trips just the three of us. Bonding, laying down some memories, making sure that I was a figure in their lives, I was doing what my parents hadn’t done. It’s clear enough that they loved me and pushed me to academic excellence. But it was the personal things that they had problems doing. Generational, probably, and I don’t fault them. I just promised that I would get to all the games and activities as much as I could. So here we are on one of our trips. If memory is correct this is the trip where David was in love with Happy Faces (ice cream) from Friendly’s. So I bargained with him to eat a hot pepper in order to persuade me to take him. I wonder if he remembers.2375 07 Julia David


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 532 other followers