Word and Image

Fireplace

DSC_0121-2

This is the fireplace on Long Island. But it is more or less representative of many fires I have known. The image recalls ski trips to Vermont. There was always a fireplace. It was part of the ambiance.

When I met Lisa she didn’t know the first thing about lighting a fireplace. Now I am permitted to do nothing.

And there was a fireplace in the Ventana Inn where we stayed just before Jules was born. I recall fires cheerfully burning at the Egremont Inn in the Berkshires. The kids raked leaves that weekend.

DSC_0123

Warm cheery meant cold windy outside. Perhaps with snow or not – there were so many fires I have known. All are pretty uniformly associated with nice memories. Friends and family were usually in the picture. I recall a last ski trip that Jules and I made to Vermont. We skied and had a fireplace to ourselves. That I recall is the last fire we made together. Yes, I can recall many a fire with many a good memory to go with them.

Leave a Reply

