Word and Image

V for Valentine

IMG_6986

Last year at this time I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing with whom. Do you? Sorry, I ain’t telling.

So “A” is for the bright red coral accent that makes me think of the letter “A.”

IMG_7052And “E” is the shape of the coral, which reminds me of an elephant.

IMG_7066And “X” is for the orange coral sticking up like a Xmas tree.

Fair enough? The technical trick I learned is to isolate the subject by fading out the background ambient light by making the strobe the dominant light source. It’s like night diving which I love so much. So finally it dawned on me to do this more. I had heretofore been concerned with battery life. I’m shooting less and more particularly. I don’t really want to manipulate my images post processing like crazy in Photoshop. Mostly I am getting away with Lightroom and some cropping on occasion. Hey, it’s working better and better.

And yes, it was a very nice valentine too…

Leave a Reply

