Word and Image

Christmas Tree Worm

IMG_8123

Close up macro underwater photography. You need a close up diopter. There are many but the de facto model in use here is a #10 model which I just ordered. My dive buddy loaned me his lens for use a couple times and I have images to post before my spiffy new lens arrives. I feel like I borrowed his toothbrush but I guess the loan of a lens is not quite that personal. And so it’s on to a new learning curve. Focus and settings are different. And I am doing this with gloves on. My fingers were so cold I could not last to the end of the dive not being able to feel the tips of my fingers. I found dive gloves without fingertips. That will help. And meanwhile I muddle onward. Focus, light, and composition are all different. Detail! Suddenly, maybe, there is too much detail. Or, there is not enough to really appreciate the whole sea creature. Nah! Among experts, this is pretty much ok. Detail work is more about seeing what the average reader and diver cannot see. A dive instructor/photographer intimated…”I can’t see what it is that I’m taking pictures of; the subjects and details are so tiny.” Ah! The emperor’s new clothes. Equipment makes a difference. But the photographer makes the image. You can do well with a point and shoot camera. But you can do better with cameras that do what you want when you want it. Therein lies the conundrum. At what point does the price exceed practical desire? For professionals, there is no price too high for the latest greatest gear. And for the advanced amateur it is a matter of what your wife will object to when you don’t get the new refrigerator you need. Yeah, I had a ton of American Express reward points and fantasized over a new Macbook computer. We got a refrigerator. Yup, brand new and spiffy, delivered shortly after she discovered my points. Hey! We needed a new refrigerator. Yeah, right! And Christmas tree worms? Well they are so called because they are worms. And the stick out of the coral and retract when disturbed. And the tops that stick up look like upside down pine trees.

IMG_8132

The come in different colors and they are neat subjects to photograph. I saw two close by. I got images. They usually retract but this pair was cooperative. I shot. The images are not perfect but the detail work is pretty awesome. It’s a jump up from enlarging a small portion of my image. Yes, this is macro photography. Another day, another lesson, I’m still self teaching myself on the fly and getting images that keep me interesting in getting better.

One response

  1. Beautiful macro work. Such interesting subjects too.

    February 26, 2016 at 10:43 am

Leave a Reply

