Word and Image

Fly away, home

Patch was down with a fatal illness. The other cats seemed to understand. They all gathered in solidarity on the bed with him. Empathic? I don’t know. We have three sets of identical twin cats. They are identical enough that face on, I cannot tell who’s who.

It was a stark cold winter morning when Patchie passed away. It was wet rainy – angel tears. This is the basket he loved to sleep in for the greater part of every day. His twin, Willow, said good-bye. Afterward Patch lay in his basket as though he were asleep. And indeed, he was, now, truly at peace and not suffering. A field of snow geese were feeding in the field next to the vet’s office. Rest in Peace, Patch. Fly with the snow geese. You are free. We loved and love you.

2 responses

  1. ….our little Bichon dog, Elmo, passed away on Jan 24th in his bed, and your tribute to Patchie is very moving and tender

    February 17, 2021 at 6:51 am

  2. Thank you. I feel so very much for your loss. We wanted Patchie to be home too. It was not to be. I had always promised him he would not suffer. And, I kept that promise to him. I think we treat our pets with more care than often I was able to care for human patients. It’s so very hard to know what’s right. I followed my heart.

    February 17, 2021 at 8:47 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.