Word and Image

Archive for March 22, 2012

You have got to be kidding

The following spam, junk, con, sucker… email was sent to my inbox. Yeah, shame on me for being cynical. But really??? If you have never seen/received this before… beware! I have shares of the moon for sale as well.
To: undisclosed recipients@null, null@null
Subject: Compliments of the day to you
Date: Mar 21, 2012 4:40 PM

Compliments of the day to you.
Please do not be surprised or get offended for receiving this message from me, It just that I have been obliged to lay a mere trust on you; Having searched through the internet from where I get your email address I strongly believe in my heart that you must be honest and sincere person for me to disclose my life secrets so that you will render your full help and assistance to me. I need a person of dignity and respectful and who have the fear of God in him.
May the blessing of God be upon you and grant you the wisdom and sympathy to understand my situation and how much I need your help. My full name is Amanda Yaman from Liberia in West Africa. I am single ,5ft 7 inches tall,50kg weight, black hair. I am loyal and a good companion. My hobbies include taking care of people, sharing problems with others and finding solution to the problems ,going to beach with my friends etc . I am from Monrovia-Liberia and presently i am residing in a church orphanage home here in Dakar Senegal as a result of the war that fought in my country.
My condition here is terrible; it’s just like one staying in the prison and i hope by Gods grace i will come out here soon. i don’t have any relatives now whom i can go to all our relatives ran away in the middle of the war the only person i have now is (Rev. father Joseph). who is in-charge of the church Orphanage, he has been very nice to me since i came here but i am not living with him rather i’m leaving in the Females hostel in the orphanage because here they have two hostels one for the males the other for females.

However, something has been bothering me and i have kept it to myself because I am afraid to disclose it to anyone. I am afraid of betrayal, I am afraid someone might take advantage of me. I have been obliged to lay a mere trust on you due to my situation here. I pray for the blessing of God to be upon you and grant you the wisdom and sympathy to understand my situation and how much I need your help. I have been praying to God to give me A person of dignity, someone who is respectful and have the fear of God in him and who will not betray my trust and confidence.
My late father was a business man and deals on cocoa and gold when he was alive. Before his untimely death, he reviewed to me that he deposited some amount of money in a bank which he used my name as the next of kin, the amount in question is $6.7m(Six Million Seven Hundred Thousand Dollars) Actually, I decided to seek your assistance in transferring and securing this money to your account for investment purposes.
Note: What i need from you is to stand as my Trustee/Partner and establish contact with the bank to discuss the process of transferring the funds to your bank account in your country. and also to make arrangement on how i will come over to your country after the transfer and stay with you and continue my life and education.
In the light of the above, I want you to send to me your complete name and your contact address either office or home address; including your direct telephone number.
After nominating you to the bank as my Trustee/Partner, I will then give you the bank’s contact with the account information to enable you establish contact with the bank and demand for the transfer of the money to your account in your country.
I will appreciate an urgent message indicating your ability and willingness to handle this transaction sincerely and honestly.
Awaiting your urgent and positive response. Please do keep this only to yourself and do not disclose it to anyone till i come over after the fund has been transferred.
I look forward to hear from you at your earliest convenient time
Yours Sincerely,


Black SUV

There were many black cars plying 5th Avenue before the parade. I looked inside to see who didn’t want to be seen and was surprised to see the windows rolled down slightly. There were video cameras discreetly mounted and pointing outward taking images of the crowd. Homeland Security was at work gathering crowd intel? Are they looking to see who’s Irish? And the crowd constantly changes so what will it really say to help security. No overhead police helicopters. The area is a no fly zone.