Word and Image

Long… shot

What are the odds? We saw something in an antique store just after Christmas. It is now past Valentine’s day and almost St. Patrick’s day. The antique in question was a joke. It was a representation of Partridge in a Pear Tree  ala the Twelve Days of Christmas. Good joke. I thought about it occasionally after we visited the store in January. What were the odds it might still be there? No, nope, nada. And besides the Christmas stuff was all put away till December. Right?

We wandered through the store. Colleen found collectible things. No Partridge in a Pear Tree. Alas! Sad! Too late!

And then… there it was on a shelf. It was not where I remembered it to be. Another? Nope. Same. There it was. I have previously posted a picture of this object. Good joke then. Even better now. I did not buy it then. Too many $$. Now? No brainer. It’s a good joke. And fate called to me. We snatched it up. To be sure there was much we passed by and left behind in the store. I will not be dreaming of an autoharp tonight… or another Singer.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.