Word and Image

Archive for June 25, 2022

Oy!

Is oy vey a Yiddish?

Oy vey comes from the Yiddish oy vey, which is translated and related to the English oh woe. It’s often uttered as a defeated-sounding sigh. Evidence for the phrase as borrowed into English dates back to the early

He lied to her? Stupid. Her. Geez! Wouldn’t you do anything to get the job if you were a lying sack of shit? “No backs!” as we used to say on the playground. I am impressed at Collin’s naivety! Stupid?! The colossal mistake of the century. Would you like to buy a piece of the Brooklyn Bridge, Susan? It’s very hard to say, “I didn’t see this coming.” Maybe the title of this post should be, “Stupid.”

In truth, I’m sure Susan will say this was the very first time she was naive and that someone lied to her.

Oy! … be very afraid…


Hype

While I dove in Saudi, the Sony RX100 was touted as the best point and shoot underwater camera ever! Ok, a bit of hyperbole, but, it was well regarded. I did not pull the trigger and get one. I was committed to my investment in the Canon G7. I succumbed to the hype in 2018. The first pictures: new car; selfie; construction in progress; flower; cat; food. It is a great camera. I wish I had been able to use it diving. It is certainly more versatile than my iPhone. Punchline? I’d do it again.