Word and Image

Archive for June 10, 2022

Bullshit

Barr said, “Bullshit.” The enemy of my enemy is my friend? Nope, I never liked him…. But truth is truth. Biden is president. The world keeps spinning. And, Trump and co. were dead-assed wrong! Trump had four years. We won’t do that again, either.

What is the famous line from Network?

Mad As Beale. There’s a lot of rage in this country at a lot of things, so much so that newscaster Howard Beale’s cry in the 1976 film Network, “I’m as mad as hell and I’m not going to take this anymore!,” has become a kind of national mantra.


Once

Saudi is a beautiful country? Hot desert sand, no rain, every day over 100 degrees, strict religious rules… yes, uniquely totalitarian. Good?! Hmmm… let’s say I am happy to be home again. Did I mention everything stops for “prayer time” five times a day?

Dave learned to dive in Saudi. His sister joined us and we adventured together. They did their first night dive together with me. Scared of the dark? Nah, they were just holding hands because…. Yes, Jules had to wear an abaya! It’s a man’s world in Saudi.

No matter what, my kids can say they visited Saudi and experienced the culture for a brief time. I feel fortunate to have given them this opportunity. What memories!