Word and Image

Archive for November 2, 2011

Yale Snow Bowl

I discuss this more in my other blog (Imaged Event). Interestingly, the blog entry is right at the top of Google’s search engine. I just called it the Yale Snow Bowl because I went with a Yale fan. It could’ve been called the Columbia Snow Bowl. Hmmm….thank you WordPress. Cold, wet, pouring snow – it was quintessential football in the elements for diehard fans. Indeed it looks like the Yale center is calling out the entire Columbia team. So technically, many people would not even think of bringing a camera to a game like this. When I said ‘pouring,’ it was a heavy wet snow, with large clumped flakes that sort of soaked into any surface. There was nothing fluffy or ethereal going on here. That said, my friend Alex and I will talk about this game for years. Oh, and yes, his alma mater, Yale won.

The photo technical stuff – I brought a plastic bag. I should have a rain cover that is sold for cameras. But I don’t. And I never used the plastic bag. I forgot my gloves in the car so holding the camera constantly was not an option. I just kept the camera enfolded in my ski parka. I pulled the camera out as the play started. It snowed all over my camera. Fortunately the Nikon is sealed well. As for water on the lens filter, I wiped it off with my fleece. There was some blur. But hey, the conditions were far from ideal. Needless to say, I did not change lenses.

More at Imaged Event (see sidebar).

Slideshow and gallery: (more…)


Black Face Model

11/2/2011

The image is perfect, from exposure, to makeup, to pose. And then you see the setup. This poor model was painted black, then yellow powder was sprinkled over her. She got to close her eyes while they sprinkled. I hope the paint came off. Anyway, in order to control the light, a lot of reflectors and assistants are on hand to be sure each element is right. By the way, the make up gal did the sprinkling.


Reflection

One of the things I look for is reflections. At least that’s how it seems lately what with tomatoes, pears, and oranges in other posts. The opportunity just comes up. In this photo from the Halloween shoot, everyone was to my right photographing the young model. I moved to the side of the car to catch her reflection in the auto’s glass. I came away with a different image. Maybe it’s not a better image but different.

Technical: Nothing was special here. I just let the meter do its work. Even with failing daylight a flash would have reflected bright spots off the auto glass.

More at Imaged Event (see sidebar).