Word and Image

Tiger

I’ve been to Africa now. But I did not see a tiger. It’s not their habitat. Years ago at the Bronx Zoo, I got this shot. I had decided to make the trip without children. You never get enough time to wait for the right moment to take the picture. The kids were always off in another direction. If you are thinking of taking kids to the zoo… take pictures of the kids looking at the animals. With the day to myself, I mounted the big lens and shot the tiger. They (zoo) don’t let you get close. And the tigers are not exactly posing for a photo op, so there’s some patience necessary to get the right opportunity.

4 responses

  1. Went to the Bronx zoo as a child, thanks for the reminder. Going to the zoo with kids certainly prevents one from getting great shots, like this one.

    November 26, 2011 at 12:24 pm

  2. Val

    While I don’t care much for zoos, this is a great shot – and I love looking at tigers.

    November 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm

  3. Thanks for your comments. While i don’t care for zoos either, they are in existence and are a source of photo opportunity. I realize that when I had young children, they had very limited attention and would never have hung around long enough for me to wait for a shot.

    November 26, 2011 at 1:22 pm

  4. I love going to the zoo and do not have children, so it is just me and the camera. Your tiger is a beautiful shot of a beautiful and ‘getting rarer by the moment’ creature.

    November 26, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.